With the pandemic still lurking around in the background of our everyday lives, it’s fair to assume that we’re all still recovering from the damages caused by it. Most of us have experienced fatigue on a massive scale, both physically and mentally & we need an outlet to release this tension. 

Yoga is one such practice that helps balance not just the mind & body but also the human relationship with the world. It emphasizes the values of mindfulness, moderation, discipline and perseverance. It’s also a supremely important instrument in promoting a sustainable lifestyle that is in harmony with our planet. 


Keeping in mind this thought, the theme for this year’s International Yoga Day celebrations is “Yoga for Humanity”.We’ve decided to take a step towards this & heal together by ‘Balancing our Chakras’.


What are Chakras?

You’ve definitely heard this word once in your life & you’ve probably been told to align your chakras too. It may seem like a recent fad but in actuality it’s been here for centuries.

If you’re someone who has absolutely no idea what it means, then firstly you’re not alone & secondly, keep reading because this is something you’d definitely want to know.


The word Chakra (originally called Cakra in Sanskrit) means “wheel” and refers to energy points in our bodies. There are supposed to be 7 main chakras in our body and it’s imperative for these to stay open & ‘aligned’ as they are directly in tune with our nerves, organs & areas of our body that directly affect our physical & mental well-being.


The Seven Chakras


An introduction to unlocking the energy points


Root Chakra: Mooladhar Chakra


Where: 3 inches below the base of the spine

What: It represents the “earth” of the five elements. This chakra keeps us grounded while establishing our connection to all matters in this universe.

Why: When balanced, brings stability and security: a healthy survival instinct. When imbalanced, it makes us disorganized and lethargic in our demeanor.  


Color: Red  |  Element: Earth  |  Sound - LAM | Magical Herb: Ashwagandha

Yogic practices that activate it: Moolbandha, Janusirasan, Hanumanasana 


Sacral Chakra: Swadishthan Chakra


Where: 3-4cm below the navel

What: Svadhisthana chakra is associated with pleasure and passion. It is the seat of the Self (Swa - self; sthana - place; translating to - abode of self) or collective unconsciousness.     

 Why: When balanced, it brings harmony between various passions and desires in our lives while enabling us to enjoy them to the fullest. When imbalanced, it may manifest as overwhelming desires and cravings of various types.


Color: Orange  |  Element: Water |  Sound - VAM | Magical Herb: Cinnamon 

Yogic practices that activate it: Bhujangasan, Shalabhasan, Passchimottanasan


Solar Plexus Chakra: Manipura Chakra 


Where: 5cm above the Navel (just below the Diaphragm)

What: This chakra represents the fire within us, the ultimate seat of energy and vitality. The Agni, digestive heat resides here. It represents dynamism, dominance, and a deep desire to rule. Overall, it is the seat of activities related to the instinctive drive to find food and nurture oneself.

Why: When balanced, it gives rise to ultimate health and achievement. When imbalanced, it may lead to a tendency of using people for personal and selfish gains.


Color: Yellow  |  Element: Fire  |  Sound: RAM | Magical Herb: Lemongrass 

Yogic practices to activate it: Setu asana, Halasan, Chakrasana, Mayurasan, Ashtavakra Asan 


Heart Chakra: Anahat Chakra


Where: Behind the sternum, at level with heart

What: Considered by yogi as a place of internal, unborn, and primordial vibration produced within each human being without any source (An - without + ahat - struck). It is the place where emotions light from selfless love to raging jealousy. 

Why: When balanced, it gives rise to universal fellowship and love for all states. When imbalanced, it gives rise to jealousy and obsession. 


Color: Green  |  Element: Air  |  Sound: YAM  | Magical Herb: Rose 

Yogic practice that activates it: Pranayama


Throat Chakra: Vishuddhi Chakra 


Where: Behind the throat, on the spinal cord 

What: The center of purification (Vi - enhanced;  Shuddhi - purification). A  place where yogi begins to gain perspective. It's the last seat of duality, a journey into the subtleties of life. It is the place that helps individuals develop an understanding of nature. At a physiological level, this Chakra controls some of the most important glands (Thyroid & Parathyroid). 

Why: When balanced, it leads to clarity of thought and speech. When imbalanced, it leads to inarticulate, unclear, and even harsh speech.

Color: Blue  |  Element:  Space  |  Sound: HAM  | Magical Herb: Peppermint

Yogic practices that active it: Jalandhara Bandha, Sarvangasana, Greevasan


Third Eye Chakra: Agya Chakra 


Where: Amidst the brain, at the top of the spine

What: This chakra is also called the third eye or the eye of wisdom that gives us the clarity of thought and a view of possibilities, of “ what can be”. This chakra is the seat of perfection which enhances our ability to guess, anticipate, or what we call a solid and accurate gut. It controls the eyesight, thought process, and sleep states of humans.

Why: When balanced, helps in clarity of thought thus enabling sound decision making. When imbalanced, it gives rise to various mental disorders resulting in poor choices and decision-making. 

Color: Indigo  |  Element: Light  |  Sound: AUM  | Magical Herb: Gotukola 

Yoga practices that activate it: Tratak, Ardh Mastendra Asan, Bakdhyanasan 


Crown Chakra: Sahasrar Chakra


Where: The top of the head

What: It represents the spiritual connection to oneself. It is the abode of the highest consciousness. The place of the mystic union of the individual soul with the supreme soul. This is the place from where the Soul enters the human body. All scriptures, yogis, and the Upanishads have gone speechless when trying to explain this chakra - describing it in only two words 'Neti Neti' meaning 'just infinite and only infinite'.

Why: When balanced, feels like a state of blissful union with all that is, of spiritual ecstasy, and enlightenment. When imbalanced, feels disconnected from the spirit and turns one cynical regarding what is sacred. 

Color: Violet  |  Element: None  |  Sound: Absolute zero,  param shoonya  | Magical Herb: Lavender

Yoga practice that activates it: Shiarshasan


Chakras in our body cannot balance itself only by practicing yoga, meditation or reiki. It’s also important to consume foods that help chakras balance. 

Our Yog Chakra Tea is a Limited Edition Blend curated specially for the occasion of International Yoga Day. It’s made with 7 Ingredients for all the 7 Chakras that reside within us. 


Yog is the dance of every cell and music of every breadth, it does not change the way you see things, it transforms the one who sees it, it adds years to your life and life to your years, it accepts and it gives.

This #InternationalYogaDay, we urge you to take yoga beyond the mat and unbox mindfulness. Light an incense brick, chant a mantra, listen to the sounds, meditate, perform Yoga, write an affirmation, and sip some tea. Vibe with all things calm, and positive to balance your chakras.

Embark on an Ayurvedic journey of wellbeing and mindfulness with this soothing blend.


Stay Well Steeped

Be a part of the Wellness Tribe and enjoy exclusive benefits